Tags

, , , , , , ,

While wading through the muck at all my favorite haunts, wearing hip waders and goggles mind you, there’s been this common theme about women and sin, specifically this kind of resentment, as if all women are virtuous and kind, or perceived to be anyway, while only men are thought to do bad things.

Bahahaha! I had to pick myself up off the floor after reading that one. Where in the world do people come up with this stuff? Sinless women, really?

I think perhaps I can empathize with the sentiments expressed there however. I can see how they might come into being. I mean, women tend to be more passive, softer, and in gender relations we tend to put each other on a pedestal. We do not see each other as we really are, we romantisize our romantic partners. So women do become potentially virtuous, pure as the driven snow, soft, gentle, sinless, the way men wish to perceive us, while men become the bad boys we all secretly desire. That is not necessarily the real story, but I can see the cultural narrative forming.

I can also empathize with how some might internalize that message and feel a sense of betrayal when they discover the truth. Or perhaps feeling unworthy of such virtuous women? Or maybe resentful because it seems as if the culture is saying, men are bad and women are good?

So what pops up right in my line of vision but Dalrock who writes about this very thing. Sort of, if you can cut through all the coconut candy.  He does declare, “Another part of the problem is that when women do sin, modern Christians simply pretend it isn’t happening.”  So ciphering through all that muck, I think what I hear is some deep seated resentment over the fact that the sin of women is sometimes culturally perceived as virtue, while men tend to be called out over every little thing. Women pure, men contaminated and sinful.

First let me say, I’ve never seen that. I’ve never, ever seen modern Christians pretending women don’t sin. Dalrock likes to make broad generalizations about both Christians and women, and his opinion of both of us is pretty low.

I’m chuckling here, but speaking of the sins of women, I’d like to put that man on a giant catapult and simply evict him from my planet. Seriously, I believe the things he says about both women and Christians are false, harmful, and serve to drive men away from both the church and Jesus Christ Himself. They are also a very transparent and twisted projection, but unfortunately many people do not have that discerning eye, so they are more easily deceived.

Sometimes I want to cry when I see what Dalrock does to the gospel, we’ll call it major evandalism, as in totally vandalizing the gospel, but sometimes he just makes me so angry, I  want to build a giant virtual catapult and send him into outer space.

Alas, evicting people from the planet, even cultian wolves in sheep’s clothing, is probably  a sin.

Ah, the sins of women. My husband once had to explain to me that you cannot just evict all the bad people off your planet. At the time, I saw absolutely no reason why not, I mean it seemed quite rational to me. Also, I was dreaming of that giant metaphorical catapult. Hubby quite wisely simply informed me with a bit of sadness,  you can’t do that because we’re all bad people.

He always knows just what to say and it often stops me in dead my tracks. I am so blessed to have married a man that understands, we’re all bad people. He’s got a nice humble heart, that isn’t pretentious or judgmental. None are worthy. In theory, we should probably all be evicted off the planet.

So do women sin? Like, duh. Women are as deeply flawed and imperfect as anyone else. Something that has swung away is the pendulum that used to blame women for everything. Think witch trials and Hester Prynne with her scarlet letter. All through history women have often been unfairly blamed and persecuted, held solely accountable for the sins of men. Fully responsible and accountable…..but also having so little power and control over much of anything. We’re in the midst of a cultural backlash against that long standing belief. For the first time women have some genuine power and many are eager to unload the shame that has been dumped on us.

Those are the culture wars however, and one is never mandated to define oneself with cultural narratives. In fact, one should do nothing of the sort. When we do that we soon become hapless victims of our own narratives.

Eventually Dalrock says, “We know that left to follow their hearts, women will seek out badboys while telling themselves that the men they are selecting are really good men.”

Yep. Women are wonderfully and fearfully made, indeed. If women weren’t capable of seeing the good in bad men, the human race would have ceased to exist long ago.

Faith 101, Dalrock. None are worthy.

